Audi LMP1 squad announced

Share This Post

Audi Sport has confirmed the 2014 World Endurance Championship Squad. The Ingolstadt based team released its 2014 Specification Audi R18 e-tron quattro back in December however the team reserved its driver squad until today’s announcement.

Audi will have two full season entrants in the World Endurance Championship with a third R18 e-tron Quattro entry for the WEC 6 Hours of Spa round and the Le Mans 24 hours in the LMP1 class.

With Allan Mcnish announcing his retirement over the winter. The speculation was that either Lucas di Grassi or Oliver Jarvis would take the vacant full season seat. With Oliver Jarvis being announced earlier this week for the third entry at Spa and Le Mans alongside a SuperGT programme. It was confirmed today that Lucas di Grassi has being promoted to a full season WEC programme with Audi Sport.

Marc Gene will be the teams reserve driver for the Spa and Le Mans 24 rounds.

“In 2014, we again have a very good driver line-up,” says Head of Audi Motorsport 
Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. “Of course it’s not easy to replace a driver like Allan McNish, who drove for Audi for 14 years. But Lucas di Grassi has delivered convincing performances in all of his runs for Audi so far. For Filipe Albuquerque, the switch from the DTM to the WEC is happening at the ideal point in time. He’s ready for the next career step. Our current sports car squad will cause a sensation in a season that poses a great challenge due to the new Technical Regulations and new rivals.”

Audi Team announcements:

Lucas Di Grassi / Loïc Duval / Tom Kristensen

Marcel Fässler / André Lotterer / Benoît Tréluyer

Filipe Albuquerque / Marco Bonanomi / Oliver Jarvis (P/I/GB)* **

*subject to confirmation by the Selection Committee of the ACO and the FIA

** Spa 6 Hours and Le Mans 24 only.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x