F1 season begins, no Sauber and Nico knows why

The 2015 Formula 1 season begins in Australia and it starts with a lawsuit and rumors of arrests, asset seizures and more. Would F1 be any different? Of course it starts with controversy and drama, its Formula 1.

Sauber were present in Free Practice 1 but did not run although Marcus Ericsson sat in one of the cars briefly. Giedo van der Garde’s attorneys have called for a court summons and the arrest and incarceration of Monisha Kaltenborn of Sauber over failure to execute the courts decision from yesterday’s appeal which was ruled in favor of van der Garde.

The legal team also has asked for the seizure of all assets of Sauber’s at the Australian Grand Prix. Tragically this is being played out in front of the entire world and Sauber is losing supporters rapidly with some suggesting the financially stricken team could be put out of business over the entire debacle.

Interestingly we have not heard from former driver Adrian Sutil but a German website has posted an article quoting former Sauber driver Nico Hulkenberg who sympathizes with van der Garde and says he knows how they do things at Sauber as he was never paid his salary. Harsh words from the German driver but he clearly has no love for the team and it makes you wonder what Adrian Sutil feels about the situation having been released from teh roster the same time as van der Garde?

The paddock is abuzz over the entire fiasco and one might assume that F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone is at the point of stepping in to broker a peace talk between the two but no word on that as of yet.

Meanwhile, the rest of the teams got on with business and perhaps no surprise to anyone, Mercedes led the time sheets with Nico pipping his teammate and current world champion Lewis Hamilton. Lewis also took time out to tell Spanish press that he was worried about Alonso but you couldn’t have kept him away from this race even if it was dangerous to his health. Ok Lewis, stir it up.

FP1 Times

1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:29.557
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:29.586
3. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 1:30.748
4. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Renault 1:31.014
5. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 1:31.029
6. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso – Renault 1:31.067
7. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1:31.188
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:31.310
9. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus – Mercedes 1:31.451
10. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull – Renault 1:31.570
11. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) RedBull – Renault 1:32.073
12. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 1:32.247
13. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 1:32.261
14. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:34.542
15. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 1:34.785
16. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Mercedes 2:17.782
17. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari No Time
18. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber – Ferrari No Time
19. Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia – Ferrari No Time
20. Roberto Merhi (Spain) Marussia – Ferrari No Time

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments