FIA on ‘Medal’concept…yes, they spent time on it

The FIA have released their finding regarding Bernie Ecclestone’s Medal Concept. The bizarre thing is they actually spent time on this issue and gave it some level of credibility by acknowledging it. Here is the release:

Press Release
Formula One Medals

Further to the proposal for medals to replace points in the FIA Formula One World Championship, the FIA has conducted an analysis of how the proposed system would have altered the results of previous seasons.

Under the medals system, it is proposed that the top three drivers in each race would win gold, silver and bronze medals. At the end of the season the driver with the most gold medals would win the championship. If two or more drivers have the same number of golds then the silver medals would come into account and so on.

The FIA’s analysis shows that the medal system would change the outcomes of past World Championships considerably. Only 22 of the 59 World Championships to date would have the same top 3. The other 37 World Championships would be different. The World Champion would be altered on 13 occasions.

The medal system would create three “new” World Champions who did not win the title using the various points systems.

The overall effect would be to reduce the number of World Champions, concentrating the titles in a smaller group.

The results that would change are largely before 1990. The last 20 years would be largely unchanged.

In the overall assessment the list of World Championships per driver would be altered as follows:

1958 Stirling Moss instead of Mike Hawthorn
1964 Jim Clark instead of John Surtees
1967 Jim Clark instead of Denny Hulme
1977 Mario Andretti instead of Niki Lauda
1979 Alan Jones instead of Jody Scheckter
1981 Alain Prost instead of Nelson Piquet
1982 Didier Pironi instead of Keke Rosberg
1983 Alain Prost instead of Nelson Piquet
1984 Alain Prost instead of Niki Lauda
1986 Nigel Mansell instead of Alain Prost
1987 Nigel Mansell instead of Nelson Piquet
1989 Ayrton Senna instead of Alain Prost
2008 Felipe Massa instead of Lewis Hamilton

Michael Schumacher 7 1994 1995 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004
Juan Manuel Fangio 5 1951 1954 1955 1956 1957
Alain Prost 5 1981 1983 1984 1985 1993
Jim Clark 4 1963 1964 1965 1967
Ayrton Senna 4 1988 1989 1990 1991
Jack Brabham 3 1959 1960 1966
Jackie Stewart 3 1969 1971 1973
Nigel Mansell 3 1986 1987 1992

Instead of the existing totals:

Michael Schumacher 7 1994 1995 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004
Juan Manuel Fangio 5 1951 1954 1955 1956 1957
Alain Prost 4 1985 1986 1989 1993
Jack Brabham 3 1959 1960 1966
Jackie Stewart 3 1969 1971 1973
Niki Lauda 3 1975 1977 1984
Nelson Piquet 3 1981 1983 1987
Ayrton Senna 3 1988 1990 1991

Key notional changes to be noted:

Brabham under the ownership of Bernie Ecclestone would have won no Drivers’ Championships.

Stirling Moss would have been the first British World Champion.

Jim Clark would have won four titles, rather than two. He would have won three consecutive titles in 1963-64-65.

Mario Andretti and Alan Jones would each have won two titles instead of one.

Niki Lauda would have lost two of his three championships and would have just one title to his name.

It should be noted, however, that the 1977 result is skewed by the fact that Lauda left Ferrari as soon as he had won the title and did not compete in the final races. If the scoring system had been different the result would almost certainly not have favoured Andretti.

Nelson Piquet would have lost all three of his World Championships.

All four World Champions between 1981-1984 would have been different.

Alain Prost would have won five World Championships but they would be different to the four that he actually claimed. His titles were won in 1985, 1986, 1989 and 1993. With the medal system they would have been 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985 and 1993. He would have won three consecutive titles in 1983-85.

Nigel Mansell would have won three World Championships instead of one, adding to 1986 and 1987 to his 1992 triumph.

Ayrton Senna would have won the 1989 title and thus would have had four consecutive titles between 1988 and 1991.

The duration of the World Championship battles

The duration of the World Championship battle would have been altered in 22 of the 59 seasons. The medal system would have had no effect in 37 of the 59 World Championships.

Fourteen World Championship battles would have been shorter (1955, 1970, 1978, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2004).

Eight World Championship battles would have lasted longer (1973, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1990, 1991, 2001 and 2005).

In terms of World Championship final race showdowns, there would have been five lost (1955, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2000) but six gained (1977, 1979, 1980, 1990, 1991 and 2005).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments