Hamilton takes pole from Perez for Imola GP

2021 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, Saturday - LAT Images

An interesting qualifying session for the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at the famed Imola circuit. Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes seemed slightly surprised to have secured pole position.

Things were interesting over at red Bull as Max Verstappen was out qualified by a teammate since 2018 as Sergio Perez slotted behind Hamilton but ahead of Verstappen. Sergio said he believes he had enough for pole position but made a mistake on his final lap. Verstappen also ran wide on his last lap and left time on the table.

Valtteri Bottas was well off the pace and could only manage 8th. It was also an exciting moment for McLaren’s Lando Norris who looked to be gunning for a front row start but his final lap time was deleted due to running outside of track limits which are being very strictly monitored this weekend at Imola.

It was a very good qualifying for both Ferrari and Alpha Tauri with Charles Leclerc and Pierre Gasly in 4th and 5th respectively but the elimination of Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz in Q2 was a head-scratcher.

Esteban Ocon managed to beat Fernando Alonso and make it to Q3. He slotted in 9th for Sunday’s race just ahead of Lance Stroll who beat his world champion teammate, Sebastian Vettel, as well.

It’s all to play for on a tricky track with cooler temps and the longest pit lane on the calendar. One thing is clear, Red Bull have two cars to harass Lewis Hamilton and with Bottas so far back, it could leave the champ isolated and fighting against two veteran drivers in very quick cars.

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1m14.823s1m14.817s1m14.411s
2Sergio PérezRed Bull-Honda1m15.395s1m14.716s1m14.446s
3Max VerstappenRed Bull-Honda1m15.109s1m14.884s1m14.498s
4Charles LeclercFerrari1m15.413s1m14.808s1m14.74s
5Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri-Honda1m15.548s1m14.927s1m14.79s
6Daniel RicciardoMcLaren-Mercedes1m15.669s1m15.033s1m14.826s
7Lando NorrisMcLaren-Mercedes1m15.009s1m14.718s1m14.875s
8Valtteri BottasMercedes1m14.672s1m14.905s1m14.898s
9Esteban OconAlpine-Renault1m15.385s1m15.117s1m15.21s
10Lance StrollAston Martin-Mercedes1m15.522s1m15.138s
11Carlos Sainz Jr.Ferrari1m15.406s1m15.199s
12George RussellWilliams-Mercedes1m15.826s1m15.261s
13Sebastian VettelAston Martin-Mercedes1m15.459s1m15.394s
14Nicholas LatifiWilliams-Mercedes1m15.548s1m15.593s
15Fernando AlonsoAlpine-Renault1m15.832s1m15.593s
16Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo-Ferrari1m15.974s
17Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo-Ferrari1m16.122s
18Mick SchumacherHaas-Ferrari1m16.279s
19Nikita MazepinHaas-Ferrari1m16.797s
20Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri-Honda
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments