IndyCar drivers scattered throughout field for Rolex 24

A new era for sports car racing in North America will kick off tomorrow as the Tudor United SportsCar Series will run the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The IndyCar series has the strongest presence of any visiting series with 10 drivers partaking in the event.

The highest qualifier is Sebastian Bourdais, driving for Action Express Racing, who will start 4th overall. Christian Fittipaldi qualified the car and joining the two are João Barbosa and Burt Frisselle.

Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan will start from 6th place driving a second car for Chip Ganassi Racing. The car out qualified the team car which has won 4 of the last 7 Rolex 24s driven by Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas, Sage Karam and Jamie McMurray. Dixon and Kanaan are joined by brother of Dario Franchitti Marino Franchitti and NASCAR Sprint Cup Rookie Kyle Larson. Dixon qualified the car.

Justin Wilson, who is fully recovered from a pelvic fracture sustained in the season finale in October, will start from 10th driving for Michael Shank Racing with Curb/Agajanian. Wilson won the 2012 running of the even driving for Shank and is reuinited with the race winning team of John Pew, Oswaldo Negri and AJ Allmendinger. Negri qualified the car.

Simon Pagenaud will start from 16th overall driving for Extreme Speed Motorsports and is joined by Anthony Lazzaro, Johannes Van Overbeek and Ed Brown. An interesting tidbit is that Pagenaud returns to a Honda powered prototype car, where he enjoyed much success in his past sports car career.

The last driver in the prototype class is James Hinchcliffe who will start 17th in class and 62nd overall driving for SpeedSource Mazda. Both his car and the team car were off the pace and the slowest in class and the slowest of those who qualified. He is joined by Sylvain Tremblay and Tom Long.

Ryan Hunter-Reay will start from pole in class in GT Le Mans and 25th overall driving for SRT Motorsports. He is joined by Marc Goosens and Dominik Farnbacher.

Graham Rahal, driving for his IndyCar team Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, will start 7th in the GT Le Mans class and 31st overall. He is joined by Dirk Müller, John Edwards and Dirk Werner. Edwards qualified the car.

Ryan Briscoe will start from 11th in the GT Le Mans class and 66th overall as his car failed to make a time. He is joined by Jan Magnussen and Antonio Garcia.

Russian IndyCar rookie Mikhail Aleshin will start 10th in the GT Daytona class driving for SMP/ESM Ferrari and 43rd overall. He is joined by Mika Salo, Boris Rotenberg and Sergey Zlobin.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments