Indycar: Watkins Glen rewards

Share This Post

After 23 years, Dale Coyne has finally found victory lane with Justin Wilson at the wheel. Winning the race was a milestone for Dale Coyne Racing and proved once again that Indycar has a long way to go to improve the racing. Yet the shining moment was a dominant performance by Wilson and yet another reminder that when Indycar throws in a road course; the real drivers emerge.

The race at Watkins Glen was better than the recent slew of ovals that has marred this season with processional, boring racing but even a grand equalizer like right turns still found the cars difficult to overtake with little racing to be found. Indycar has perfected the concept of a series that is crushed under the weight of its own spec’ cars and engines. Is it better to claw desperately at the history of the Indy 500 or actually create a series that people like? Times have changed. Technology has changed and the CHAMP merger should have brought a host of concepts that Indycar could have learned from.

I’ve spoken with many American open-wheel fans and they all will tell you that CART/CHAMP car racing was a superior product and series. Merging the series into Indycar and removing the DNA of CHAMP Car racing was a mistake born from bravado and a sad devotion to a single oval track in the middle of America. Yes it is a palace of speed and historically rich but one oval does not a series make. It should be the exception and not the rule.

Congratulations to Justin Wilson and Dale Coyne.

1. Justin Wilson Coyne
2. Ryan Briscoe Penske + 4.9906s
3. Scott Dixon Ganassi + 5.1632s
4. Helio Castroneves Penske + 7.0755s
5. Marco Andretti Andretti Green + 8.5595s
6. Mike Conway Dreyer & Reinbold + 9.3646s
7. EJ Viso HVM + 11.3804s
8. Tony Kanaan Andretti Green + 13.0020s
9. Robert Doornbos Newman/Haas/Lanigan + 13.2633s
10. Dan Wheldon Panther + 18.0412s
11. Danica Patrick Andretti Green + 18.5656s
12. Raphael Matos Luczo Dragon + 18.9342s
13. Graham Rahal Newman/Haas/Lanigan + 23.0413s
14. Mario Moraes KV + 23.3821s
15. Dario Franchitti Ganassi + 1 lap
16. Ed Carpenter Vision + 1 lap
17. Milka Duno Dreyer & Reinbold + 2 laps
18. Richard Antinucci 3G + 13 laps


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x