It’s the halfway point and there is everything to play for in the Jim Russell Future Search program. I just received an update from the Press Room at Jim Russell Racing Drivers School and it is now down to 20 drivers who will fight for one of two fully-funded positions in the 2010 Jim Russell Championship. The program started with 40 drivers representing 10 different countries.

Jim Russell Allan McNish

The final two days of the program will see Britain’s double Le Mans 24 Hour race winner, Allan McNish, and his fellow judging panel members choose two winners to compete in next years series with the winner to move on to a fully-funded seat in the Formula Two world series.

The drivers for the final two days are:

Bastien Graber (18), from Niddatal, GERMANY

James Kovacic (16), from Forresters Beach nr Gosford, AUSTRALIA

Brett van Blankers (22), New Westminster, British Columbia, CANADA

Xavier Coupal (19), Saint-Jean, Quebec, CANADA

Tyler Bennett (20), from Farmington, Utah, USA

Gregory Liefooghe (29), from San Francisco, California, USA

Yannick Mettler (20), from Kriens (Luzern), SWITZERLAND

Jordan Jadallah (17), from Hillsborough, California, USA

Mark Pombo (27), from Berkeley Lake, Georgia, USA

Jayson Clunie (40), from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, CANADA

Gustavo Menezes (15), from Coto de Caza, California, USA

Justin Gald (18), from Fresno, California, USA

Felipe Polehtto [nee Poletto Bastos] (20), from Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL

Logan Downing (17), from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, CANADA

Nikola Radosavljevich (18), from Los Gatos, California, USA

Gary Carlton (23), from Marysville, California, USA

Alex Ellis (18), from St Catharines, Ontario, CANADA

Javier Echeverria (22), from Mexico City, MEXICO

Cody Hodgson (18), from Escalon, California, USA

Jeffrey Westphal (23), from San Carlos, California, USA

The final two positions will be chosen on different criteria. The judges are looking for the best “all-rounder” driver for their first selection while the second recipient of the 2010 JRCS “seat” will be the driver who has set the outright fastest lap time in a Jim Russell Racing Drivers School FJR-50 single-seater on Tuesday – a day which will see just six drivers battling for this spectacular prize after Monday’s continuing selection process.

Things are heating up in Sonoma and we will keep you posted every step of the way.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments