Marc Marquez did exactly what he needed to do in order to clinch the 2014 world championship title—finish second and ahead of Valentino Rossi and teammate Dani Pedrosa.

The Spanish rider adds a second world title to his impressive and record-breaking CV. It wasn’t without action as the leaders were all close to each for most of the race. Jorge Lorenzo secured his second win in a row but Honda enjoys their first world title won at their home grand prix at Motegi.

Rossi made a great fight out of it trying to hold off a charging Marquez but couldn’t prevent the Spaniard from taking second place on the 16th lap.

Lorenzo finished with 2.7 seconds in hand with Dani Pedrosa coming in 4th.

Marquez has been a singular talent in MotoGp rewriting history books and galvanizing the competition. While it has been a dominating year for the Spanish champion, the series still managed to put on some great races and Motegi was no different.

Marc is the youngest ever rider to win two consecutive premier-class World Championships at the age of 21 years 237 days, taking the record from Mike Hailwood who was 23 years 152 days when he won his second successive 500cc title in 1963. Marquez said:

“I am very happy to have sealed this second consecutive World Championship, because although it is difficult to maintain this level, in the end we succeeded! Today is the time to enjoy this title. In the race I had a very clear objective, which was to finish ahead of Valentino and Dani – the other riders did not matter to me so much today. I just had one goal in mind and the important thing is that I was able to achieve it. I want to dedicate this title to all the people who have helped me – they know who they are – and especially to my family and the team, who are the foundation for all of this.”

Congratulation to the MotoGP world champions Marc Marquez and Honda.

1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha 42m21.259s
2 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 1.638s
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 2.602s
4 Daniel Pedrosa Honda Honda 3.157s
5 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 14.353s
6 Andrea Iannone Pramac Racing Ducati 16.653s
7 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda 19.531s
8 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 19.815s
9 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 23.575s
10 Alvaro Bautista Gresini Racing Honda 35.687s
11 Aleix Espargaro Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 40.668s
12 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha Yamaha 51.027s
13 Hiroshi Aoyama Aspar Honda 51.093s
14 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 55.792s
15 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati 59.089s
16 Scott Redding Gresini Racing Honda 59.508s
17 Alex de Angelis Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1m16.547s
18 Michael Laverty Paul Bird Motorsport PBM/Aprilia 1m28.021s
19 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing Avintia/Kawasaki 1m29.470s
20 Broc Parkes Paul Bird Motorsport PBM/Aprilia 1m33.253s
Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing Ducati Retirement
Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing Honda Retirement
Danilo Petrucci IodaRacing Project ART/Aprilia Retirement
Cal Crutchlow Ducati Ducati Retirement

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Photo and Image Files
Audio and Video Files
Other File Types
1 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
Tom FirthNegative CamberDoug Patterson Recent comment authors

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Doug Patterson
Doug Patterson

I was so hoping that The Doctor could hold on to P2. It was a nice battle, though.