Porsche LMP1 2015

Porsche have today confirmed that all six of the Porsche LMP1 works drivers, Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas, Neel Jani, Brendon Hartley, Marc Lieb and Mark Webber will retain race seats for the 2015 World Endurance Championship season.

Porsche however has left the question open of whether a third car will be run by the factory at Le Mans in 2015, with the team recently testing Porsche works GT drivers Fred Makowiecki and Michael Christensen at Magny-Cours in September, followed by Nick Tandy, Patrick Pilet and Richard Lietz at Aragon in October in the Porsche 919 Hybrid.

Porsche have previously denied that contact with Jenson Button existed, however this does officially effectively end all speculation that the 2009 Formula One World champion would join Porsche Team in 2015.

The World Endurance Championship for 2014, meanwhile still has two races remaining, with the Six Hours of Bahrain this weekend. Porsche currently sit third in the LMP1 Manufacturers World Championship, and second in the LMGTE Manufacturers World Cup.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments