Red Bull: No trick, our suspension is legal and car won’t be changed

Share This Post

I don’t think I’d ever want to play poker with Christian Horner.

As he started raising his bets, there would be no way to tell if he was bluffing or, lucky always, had drawn that 10 of diamonds he needed to complete his inside straight.

Horner sure seems to be showing that poker face now to the rest of the Formula 1 grid.

Asked by Autosport if the FIA clarification of rules on suspensions would affect his team, he answered:

“No. The car that we will take to China will be exactly the same mechanically as it was in the first three races. It has absolutely no impact on the specification of our car.”


“Fundamentally, we’ve got a fast car. The guys have done a good job and it’s inevitably one of those things that people perhaps make accusations when you are running competitively. But I take it as a compliment. I’m sure if we were running 14th, similar accusations wouldn’t be made.”

Horner wouldn’t get drawn into speculation about whether the FIA’s statement — that any device, active or passive, that alters car ride heights would be illegal — would affect other teams.

“Obviously the FIA has felt the necessity to clarify, and I think they’ve done exactly the right and the responsible thing, as it avoids a development rush in this area that inevitably wouldn’t be cheap.

“It’s a sensible ruling. It inevitably saves teams spending a huge amount of money on R&D to create such systems and obviously if anybody does run one, it would be in clear breach of the technical regulations. We’re more than happy with the FIA’s verdict, which we fully support.

“With these things, sometimes the wording and the spirit of the regulations leaves different interpretations and it’s great to see that on this occasion it has been clarified and that any form of active ride is therefore illegal.”

Despite Horner’s firmness, this doesn’t feel like it’s over yet. I also can’t help but think we’ve already had more real action — as opposed to chatter and debate by those without any power — on this issue than the double diffuser of last year. I know the FIA quickly ruled that legal, but that sure seemed to play out differently, didn’t it?

Does anyone think Horner is not telling the truth? Is there any room to wiggle around within his answer? I feel like maybe there is within the context of his saying the car will be “exactly the same mechanically.” Is that open to something?


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x