Rosberg beats Hamilton to pole

After dominating the weekend in free practice, Lewis Hamilton couldn’t convert his blistering pace to a pole position run in Saturday’s qualifying session or the Bahrain Grand Prix. If there is solace, it is that his teammate did and his Mercedes looks comprehensively more competitive than the rest of the field. Lewis has his eyes on the race on Sunday:

“My first lap was okay, it wasn’t too bad, and then the second I just locked up into Turn One and didn’t have another chance,” Hamilton told Sky Sports F1.

“Nico did a great job and happy for the team that we get the front-row and I’ll try to do better tomorrow.”

As for Nico Rosberg, he’s in the best possible position to extend his driver’s championship lead tomorrow and should he get a decent start, it will be difficult for anyone but his teammate to catch him.

1.  Nico Rosberg (Germany)       Mercedes                 
2.  Lewis Hamilton (Britain)     Mercedes                 
3.  Valtteri Bottas (Finland)    Williams-Mercedes        
4.  Sergio Perez (Mexico)        Force India - Mercedes   
5.  Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)     Ferrari                  
6.  Jenson Button (Britain)      McLaren                  
7.  Felipe Massa (Brazil)        Williams-Mercedes        
8.  Kevin Magnussen (Denmark)    McLaren                  
9.  Fernando Alonso (Spain)      Ferrari                  
10. Sebastian Vettel (Germany)   RedBull - Renault        
11. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany)   Force India - Mercedes   
12. Daniil Kvyat (Russia)        Toro Rosso - Renault     
13. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull - Renault        
14. Jean-Eric Vergne (France)    Toro Rosso - Renault     
15. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico)   Sauber - Ferrari         
16. Romain Grosjean (France)     Lotus - Renault          
17. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus - Renault          
18. Adrian Sutil (Germany)       Sauber - Ferrari         
19. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan)      Caterham - Renault       
20. Jules Bianchi (France)       Marussia - Ferrari       
21. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden)     Caterham - Renault       
22. Max Chilton (Britain)        Marussia - Ferrari
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments