Rossi back on top in Misano

Valentino Rossi has won the San Marino Grand Prix at Misano which the first win in 2014 for the 35-year-old Italian. The 9-time champion hasn’t won in Italy in five years and the win was a welcome return to the top step.

On the tenth lap, point leader and current world champion, Marc Marquez had a rare crash at Rio corner which handed the win to Rossi. Marquez and Rossi were battling on the first nine laps with Rossi holding every challenge and re-passing Marquez with that Rossi panache.

The only threat after Marquez went down was Yamaha teammate Jorge Lorenzo who finished second on  harder front tire option that didn’t pay dividends.

An interesting new story came out of the Misano weekend with the series announcing they were instituting a software freeze at the end of June 2015 to prepare for the new regulation bikes to come. The statement said:

“After that date manufacturers will not be permitted to update their software except for minor bug fixes that might affect safety,” said a statement from the commission.

From then on the current manufacturers will collaborate on developing what is being referred to as the “unified” software for 2016. This will be based on the control ECU used by Open runners.

An exception will be made for returnees Suzuki and Aprilia, both of which will be back in MotoGP next year.

“Manufacturers not currently participating may continue to use and develop their own software throughout 2015 but may also be invited to participate in the development of the unified software,”

The win for Rossi pushes the 2014 title decider back for another race as Marc Marquez still leads handedly in the championship.  Rossi’s win moves him just a single point behind Dani Pedrosa. It’s great to see Valentino back on the top step and team Yamaha take the fight to Honda’s Marc Marquez.


1Valentino RossiMovistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha44m14.586s
2Jorge LorenzoMovistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha1.578s
3Daniel PedrosaRepsol Honda TeamHonda4.276s
4Andrea DoviziosoDucati TeamDucati5.510s
5Andrea IannonePramac RacingDucati11.771s
6Pol EspargaroMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha18.999s
7Bradley SmithMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha23.100s
8Alvaro BautistaGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda36.458s
9Cal CrutchlowDucati TeamDucati38.480s
10Yonny HernandezEnergy T.I. Pramac RacingDucati45.878s
11Karel AbrahamCardion AB MotoracingHonda54.765s
12Hiroshi AoyamaDrive M7 AsparHonda56.775s
13Scott ReddingGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda1m02.734s
14Alex de AngelisNGM Forward RacingForward Yamaha1m13.546s
15Marc MarquezRepsol Honda TeamHonda1m15.948s
16Leon CamierDrive M7 AsparHonda1m20.760s
17Michael LavertyPaul Bird MotorsportPBM/Aprilia1m26.422s
18Broc ParkesPaul Bird MotorsportPBM/Aprilia1 Lap
19Hector BarberaAvintia RacingAvintia/Kawasaki1 Lap
Aleix EspargaroNGM Forward RacingForward YamahaRetirement
Stefan BradlLCR Honda MotoGPHondaRetirement
Danilo PetrucciIodaRacing ProjectART/ApriliaRetirement
Mike Di MeglioAvintia RacingAvintia/KawasakiRetirement


1Marc Marquez289
2Daniel Pedrosa215
3Valentino Rossi214
4Jorge Lorenzo177
5Andrea Dovizioso142
6Pol Espargaro98
7Aleix Espargaro92
8Andrea Iannone92
9Stefan Bradl74
10Bradley Smith74
11Alvaro Bautista64
12Scott Redding54
13Cal Crutchlow47
14Hiroshi Aoyama43
15Yonny Hernandez38
16Karel Abraham33
17Nicky Hayden29
18Colin Edwards11
19Michele Pirro11
20Broc Parkes7
21Mike Di Meglio4
22Danilo Petrucci4


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments