Verstappen wins Sprint in Miami

MIAMI, FLORIDA - MAY 03: Sprint Pole qualifier Max Verstappen of the Netherlands and Oracle Red Bull Racing celebrates in parc ferme during Sprint Qualifying ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Miami at Miami International Autodrome on May 03, 2024 in Miami, Florida. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images) // Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool // SI202405030782 // Usage for editorial use only //

Max Verstappen took the win for the Miami GP Sprint race on Saturday. Max led from pole position to take his second Sprint win of 2024 with Charles Leclerc’s Ferrari in 2nd and Max’s Red Bull teammate Sergio Perez in 3rd.

The big win was a tremendous 4th place for RB’s Daniel Ricciardo who held off a faster Carlos Sainz in his Ferrari. Ricciardo’s teammate, Yuki Tsunoda wasn’t able to hold off Lewis Hamilton’s Mercedes for the final point in 8th.

Lewis’s race was marred by an aggressive move at the start clashing with Fernando Alonso’s Aston Martin and oddly the stewards chose not to penalize Lewis or Lance Stroll for squeezing Alonso causing a collision with Lando Norris ending his race.

To be honest, I am confused by the race stewards with regards to their lack of penalties for the first turn driving of Hamilton and Stroll. I am also confused as to why the stewards gave Kevin Magnussen a 10s penalty for short-cutting the chicane the first time, then a black and white flag for the second time and then another penalty later on. It should have been a flag for first offense, then a penalty for subsequent offenses. I understand Kevin was being too aggressive in spots but as Martin Brundle said, Kevin wasn’t slamming into people like Lewis and Lance did at turn one.

Sure, aggressive driving has its limits but the stewarding is starting off a little shaky this weekend.

Sprint Results:

11Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT1931:31.3838
216Charles LeclercFERRARI19+3.371s7
311Sergio PerezRED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT19+5.095s6
43Daniel RicciardoRB HONDA RBPT19+14.971s5
555Carlos SainzFERRARI19+15.222s4
681Oscar PiastriMCLAREN MERCEDES19+15.750s3
727Nico HulkenbergHAAS FERRARI19+22.054s2
822Yuki TsunodaRB HONDA RBPT19+29.816s1
910Pierre GaslyALPINE RENAULT19+31.880s0
102Logan SargeantWILLIAMS MERCEDES19+34.355s0
1124Zhou GuanyuKICK SAUBER FERRARI19+35.078s0
1263George RussellMERCEDES19+35.755s0
1323Alexander AlbonWILLIAMS MERCEDES19+36.086s0
1477Valtteri BottasKICK SAUBER FERRARI19+36.892s0
1531Esteban OconALPINE RENAULT19+37.740s0
1644Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES19+49.347s0
1714Fernando AlonsoASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES19+59.409s0
1820Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI19+66.303s0
NC4Lando NorrisMCLAREN MERCEDES0+0 lap0
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Worthless Opinion

The well proven rule applies once again – if ricciardo finished well the track doesn’t work. I hope the people who used to complain about tilke era tracks will reflect on the China GP, on an f1 track, and this Miami autocross weekend.