Vettel takes commanding pole in Canada

Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has taken a commanding pole position for Sunday’s Canadian Grand Prix leading McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton by just over 3 tenths of a second. It was a tight battle Saturday with Hamilton, Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and teammate Mark Webber but the German managed to throw down an astounding lap for pole position.

Mercedes AMG Petronas was tipped for a possible surprise performance this weekend but appeared to slow down on his final lap in Q3 perhaps due to being balked by a Ferrari on its cool-down lap. Kimi Raikkonen suffered witha differential issue relegating him to 12th while his teammate, Romain Grosjean, forged ahead into Q3 and managed a strong 7th for Sunday’s race.

Force India must be happy with the performance of Paul Di Resta who had a terrific 8th in qualifying while McLaren’s Jenson Button continues his nightmare season by sitting in the garage after a single hot lap in Q3 due to a lack of option tire compounds to have any real shot at pole.

Red Bull have been forced to make two modifications to their chassis regarding a movable aerodynamic feature on their wheel ducting and holes in the floor of the RB8 but that hasn’t seemed to stop the team from finding pace in Canada.

honorable mentions have to be made to Pedro de la Rosa of HRT. The veteran spaniard was manhandling the obstinate car all weekend and managed to out-qualify both Marussia cars in Q1. Well done to Pedro for a terrific effort.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap 
1.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault     1m13.784s         
2.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes     1m14.087s + 0.303 
3.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari              1m14.151s + 0.367 
4.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault     1m14.346s + 0.562 
5.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes             1m14.411s + 0.627 
6.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari              1m14.465s + 0.681 
7.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault        1m14.645s + 0.861 
8.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes 1m14.705s + 0.921 
9.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes             1m14.812s + 1.028 
10. Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes     1m15.182s + 1.398 

11.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari       1m14.688s  + 0.501
12.  Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault        1m14.734s  + 0.547
13.  Nico Hulkenberg       Force India-Mercedes 1m14.748s  + 0.561
14.  Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m15.078s  + 0.891
15.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari       1m15.156s  + 0.969
16.  Bruno Senna           Williams-Renault     1m15.170s  + 0.983
17.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault     1m15.231s  + 1.044

18.  Heikki Kovalainen     Caterham-Renault     1m16.263s  + 1.602
19.  Vitaly Petrov         Caterham-Renault     1m16.482s  + 1.821
20.  Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m16.602s  + 1.941
21.  Pedro de la Rosa      HRT-Cosworth         1m17.492s  + 2.831
22.  Timo Glock            Marussia-Cosworth    1m17.901s  + 3.240
23.  Charles Pic           Marussia-Cosworth    1m18.255s  + 3.594
24.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth         1m18.330s  + 3.669
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments