Palmer claims GP2 title

Jolyon Palmer is the 2014 GP2 champion after claiming victory in Sochi and securing the 25 point she needed to take the title. His closest rival, Felipe Nasr, had a difficult race with two drive-through penalties for exceeding track limits.

Palmer joins and impressive list of GP2 champions and he’s the first British driver to win the title since Lewis Hamilton in 2006. Palmer said:

“It’s incredible, to look at the list of champions, who are fantastic drivers, and join them, which nobody can take away from me, is an incredible feeling,”

It is a nice list…especially that guy in 2010:

2005 – Nico Rosberg
2006 – Lewis Hamilton
2007 – Timo Glock
2008 – Giorgio Pantano
2009 – Nico Hulkenberg
2010 – Pastor Maldonado
2011 – Romain Grosjean
2012 – Davide Valsecchi
2013 – Fabio Leimer

Palmer stands at 256 points after 19 of 22 rounds with Nasr sitting on 190 followed by Stoffel Vandoorne with 180.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments